Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LG Electronics Canada.

GW825

LG IQ offers the best of both worlds (business and pleasure) Windows Mobile®, an intuitive S-class UI and enhanced security... It's really a smart phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
(6 reviews) Rating Snapshot
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 of 6(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GW825
Review 1 for GW825
Users gave these average ratings:
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Users gave these average ratings:
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
debthefed
Location: Victoria BC
Date:May 12, 2011
I've owned this product for: Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG: Online Research
Would recommend:No
Repair costs as much as a new phone
Date:May 12, 2011
Pros: Style/Design
Cons: Value, repair expensive or not available
" I was excited about the features of this phone when purchased - high quality camera, slideout keyboard, windows mobile, etc.
But 1 month past warranty the flex cable went & the repair estimate is as much as buying out my contract & getting a whole new phone. I could repair this myself but the flex cable is mysteriously unavailable for this phone.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GW825
Users gave these average ratings:
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Users gave these average ratings:
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MINGWO26
I've owned this product for: A few months
Primary reason I chose LG: Recommendation
Would recommend:No
Not user friendly
Date:April 4, 2011
Cons: Difficult to use
" I very much can't stand this phone, it is not user friendly at all and if it didn't cost me an arm and a leg to get out of my contract, i would get rid of it in a heartbeat. It takes you through several screens before you can make a phone call in your own contact list and the touch sensor screen is not sensitive enough. It comes with a little pen like a DS pen that is totally useless.... your pointing at one thing but it goes to another. I hate my phone and cant wait for my contract to be close enough over to get a different one. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GW825
Users gave these average ratings:
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Users gave these average ratings:
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KamloopsMountainMan
Location: Kamloops, BC
Date:August 14, 2010
I've owned this product for: Several months
Primary reason I chose LG: Online Research
Would recommend:Yes
LG IQ is an EXCELLENT PRODUCT
Date:August 14, 2010
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Cons: battery life
" I have owned my LG IQ since May 2010 and i am very pleased. The ease of set-up and the ease of use is great. My only con is the battery life is not great. Other than that I would reccommend this product to anyone. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
samuel
Vancouver
Pure Frustration !
Posted November 28, 2010
Got this phone two weeks ago from Telus mobility and guess what? I already had the phone STUCK in the middle of syncing with my PC, and (1) Power button became useless, i.e. could not POWER OFF ! (2) I was told to take out the battery and restart first time I had problem, and it helped then I was told to do a hard reset by clearing the internal memory as I don't have a microsd installed. Ok, that helped for a day (3) Second day, when I downloaded a few music files and I think they might be just over the memory limit a little, then the same "FREEZING" problem reoccur (4) Called Telus Tech Support as the old trick doesn't work any more. The phone just STUCK at Orange Window Logo forever, could not power off. (5) as instructed in the LG IQ manual, I tried both soft and hard reset with 4 button reset and NO USE !!!!! The same screen is STUCK there and I lost all my info in the phone for the 4th time this week !!
I had ENOUGH lousy device like LG IQ GW825 ! I'm going to return to Telus for another device, and it won't be from LG I can guarantee you !
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for GW825
Users gave these average ratings:
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Users gave these average ratings:
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eric
Location: Langley BC
Date:May 14, 2010
I've owned this product for: A few months
Primary reason I chose LG: Online Research
Would recommend:Yes
Very Good Buy
Date:May 14, 2010
Pros: Style/Design, Features/Settings, Quality, finger print scanner, very customizable
Cons: Features/Settings, seemed slow in some programs, needs to be updated more by lg and windows, possibly get rid of windows and use android, needs new messaging program
" I have had this phone for about 1 month and I absolutely love it. But here are all my thoughts...
Pros: I love that it lets you lock and unlock it with you finger print (very impressive feature to show off) The keyboard is a perfect size and nice to use. Camera is great quality with some very fun and enjoyable features as I am accustomed to with my LG phones. The screen is very crisp and clear and offers a nice mobile video experience. The phone looks sleek and stylish. It offers alot of customization options and LG S class is always welcome.
Cons: The finger print sensor needs to be a bit faster because I sometimes found myself waiting for it to recognize me. LG should bring back the photo and video editor that I had on my LG DARE, that is a feature I missed in this phone. The messaging application REALLY needs work for both the Windows and LG version. The Windows version only allowed me to view one message and not the entire conversation, and was very dull looking. The LG version was very fresh and nice to look at but was slower. Also when composing or replying to a message you should be able to immediately begin typing and should not have to "Press here to enter text" The S-Class seemed a bit lagged and slow as well. The LG Music application needs to be made faster and smoother but other then that has a great look and feel. The phone should also respond better to when it is tilted. Other then that I suggest testing it a bit more and making sure everything runs at top speed and performance. "
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GW825
Users gave these average ratings:
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Users gave these average ratings:
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wolfman
Location: Alberta
Date:April 10, 2010
I've owned this product for: A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG: Online Research
Would recommend:Yes
Decent Mobile Computing
Date:April 10, 2010
Pros: Performance, Quality, value
Cons: Difficult to use
" I wanted serious mobile computing to fit with my lifestyle and I think I got it with the IQ. If you want a phone with 100,000 useless apps like turning your phone into a musical instrument or teach you how to swear in sign language and doesn't offer a video recorder, this phone isn't for you. My last 3 phones were HTC but this phone is faster, with more features and better camera and video recorder with a more robust UI. I'm constantly using Google Maps, the Weather Forecast, Bluetooth, Mobile Office, the Biometric Sensor, and the multiple customized home pages. I particularly love the myphone sync function. It comes with a 32GB micro SD slot so I can literally change out the hard drive on the fly. And on top of that, it was a fraction of the cost of the overhyped iphone. Everything works well but needs some refinement.
Suggestions: LG interface for tasks doesn't have a start field but the microsoft interface has a start field in tasks.
More mobile browser options. The IQ comes with IE but it actually hurts the phone's performance. I was initially disappointed in the phone until I downloaded another mobile browser and the experience was faster and more robust. It comes a close second to sitting in front of my lap top in surfing the web.
More flexibility in terms of icons that can be placed directly on the homepage. I might just not have figured out how to do it but I can't seem to get some of my favorite icons directly on the homepage so I have two or three clicks before accessing the app but it's not the end of the world.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GW825
Users gave these average ratings:
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Users gave these average ratings:
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BobbyTwoDogs
Location: Toronto, ON
Date:February 26, 2010
I've owned this product for: A few days
Primary reason I chose LG: Online Research
Would recommend:Yes
LG IQ fast but needs refinement
Date:February 26, 2010
Pros: Performance, Quality
Cons: Features/Settings, messaging application
" I purchased my phone a couple of days ago and here are my thoughts.
Pros: It's fast, really fast - no waiting on applications loading. The fingerprint reader is kind of cool - I always lock my phone! Keyboard is fantastic, will take a bit of getting use to though.
Task Manager button - woo hoo!!! This I use the most - fantastic thing to have.
Pictures and videos are stunning for a phone - really happy with this - although I don't use it a lot.
Cons: Interface is a little messy and it takes more taps to get things done than I'm used to. Messaging is my biggest beef and it has to be improved - for one thing when you go to see messages in the inbox you only get the last message - no history thread - and if you delete the last message it deletes ALL messages in that thread. You can then see your history in the deleted messages folder but the inbox does not do this. Also when you reply to a message you have to hit "reply" then "reply" on the next screen then "click here to enter text" that's 3 clicks where I used to click once on my old phone. The only way to see history is to go to the LG messaging app, click on the Inbox and then click on the message - again 3 clicks whereas I used to have to do 0 because the history was always shown in the inbox. When you reply in the LG messaging app it also puts the phone number in the "To" field instead of the persons name.
The other thing that is bothersome is the LGIdles Today screen - there is a lot of wasted space there - it would be nice to be able to put Gadgets on this screen - it's a lot of wasted real estate just having a picture in the middle of the screen - would be nice to have calendar/call history, etc on that screen - HTC does a better job here.
The fingerprint/navigation sensor is a nice feature, however it doesn't work too well for games - i.e. Tetris or any game that you move objects around the screen (most games I mean).
"
15 of 19 found this review helpful.